Somewhat Basic Mathematics and Physics books

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's interest in mathematics and physics, particularly calculus. They are looking for good books to improve their skills and have shown talent in the subject. They are also interested in developing their problem-solving skills and are open to suggestions for books that contain challenging problems.
Aeolus
hello, I'm 13 years old but i skipped a few years so i am a bit ahead of the normal schedule however I'm not yet at calculus and that kind of stuff, however Christmas is approaching! this means of course good physics and mathematics books the only problem is finding the right ones. I'm currently studying the Edexcel Mathematics at Higher Plus level and Science (though unfortunately not started physics just yet, but i want to know now instead of later!) at IGCSE level (could not choose higher or anything like that). My teachers say i have shown great talent and natural skill in mathematics but i want to become excellent at it instead of just good. I am quite ambitious so don't take me lightly. Help me get some good books for christmas please :)

Cheers

Physics news on Phys.org
How to Ace Calculus: the streetwise guide

If you are interested in calculus, that book is a real easy read... gives a nice basic foundation of Calculus.

I suggest that you get one or more books that contain problems from competitions at, say, the high school level. Your teachers might be able to recommend suitable books. The https://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_...ontest+problem+book&x=0&y=0&tag=pfamazon01-20 series provides challenging problems with solutions. You can look at these books on Amazon to see whether they appeal to you. Developing your problem-solving skills is much more important (IMO) than learning specific subjects.

Last edited by a moderator:

Related to Somewhat Basic Mathematics and Physics books

What are "Somewhat Basic Mathematics and Physics books"?