Steps to take to pursue a Ph.D in Physics with a Math degree

In summary, the individual is interested in pursuing a Ph.D in Physics despite only having taken an AP Physics course in high school. They plan on using an introductory Physics textbook to reacquaint themselves with the subject and are seeking recommendations on how to gain the necessary knowledge and experience to pursue a Ph.D. Suggestions include checking the syllabus for an undergraduate physics major, contacting the department for recommended books, and potentially auditing or taking courses at a four-year university. The individual also mentions their background in math and lists the courses they have taken.
BlackHayze
Hi all,

I graduated with a degree in math about a year and a half ago. I've recently become very interested in the idea of Physics. I've always loved physics, but for some reason, probably because I never really did the kind of self-introspection I try to practice now, I majored in Math and Computer Science.

I would like to try and work towards a Ph.D in Physics. I've ordered an introductory Physics textbook and plan on working through that to reacquaint myself with Physics (took AP Physics in high school, got an A and loved it, and that's the main Physics knowledge I have. I'm certain this text will get me farther in my knowledge than even that class did.)

After working through that textbook, what are your recommendations? Would I need to enroll in a full time university and take a year or two of Physics as a dedicated student? Could I do it part-time? I live in Chicago, so schools are abundant, both full universities and community colleges. Would I even need to take university courses (i.e. could I do it self-study?) I've always been a smart guy, so I have no doubts I could do the self study way if that's feasible, but it may not look good to a program.