String theory relativistic equations

In summary, the conversation discusses the speaker's attempt to gain a laymen's understanding of string theory, specifically the development of classical and relativistic equations of motion. It is explained that relativistic equations are derived from classical equations using light cone coordinates and Fourier expansion. The Fourier term in each dimension describes how the string vibrates, including in compactified dimensions. In curved spaces, the normal modes are not sine and cosine functions, but the Fourier expansion is still applicable for small oscillations. The concept of geodesics and how they relate to the motion of particles in spacetime is also mentioned. The idea of compactifications is introduced, with the example of a torus, and how it is taken into account in string theory through periodic conditions
lkwarren01
I'm an engineer trying to get a reasonable laymen's/conceptual understanding of string theory. I've finally gotten a general understanding of developing classical equations of motion, but I'm a little stuck on relativistic equations.

As I understand it, relativistic equations of motion are developed from classical equations by applying light cone coordinates then Fourier expansion. It's my understanding that there's a Fourier term for each spatial dimension of the theory, including compactified dimensions, which describes how the string vibrates in that dimension. Is that correct?

If yes, how is the geometry of the compactified dimensions--eg, C-Y, orbifold, torus, etc--taken into account? Thru the sigma variable in the Fourier term?

Thanks
Larry Warren, IL

Physics news on Phys.org
The Fourier expansion only works in flat space, strictly speaking. The compact directions can be flat tori.

In curved spaces, the normal modes will be something other than sines and cosines. However, the Fourier expansion will be good enough for very small oscillations.