Summer research internship in particle physics

In summary, the best way to find a research internship in the USA is to directly contact potential supervisors at universities or research institutes. Other options include searching online and applying for programs like the National Science Foundation's REU program. It is important to have a clear idea of your research interests and the specific skills needed for the project. Good luck!
IvanG
Hello,
I'm a first year graduate student from France, and I need to complete a 3/4-months research internship from April to June/July 2012.
My interests are in particle physics and theoretical physics, but I guess it is quite impossible to do something interesting in theory during such a short time, so I would like to do this internship in experimental high energy physics.
What is the way of finding a research internship in the USA? Should I directly contact a professor whith whom I'd like to work? Are there any programs I could apply to (in or outside the United States)?
Thanks for your help.

Physics news on Phys.org
The best way to find a research internship in the USA is to contact potential supervisors at universities or research institutes directly. It is important to have a clear idea of the research project that you would like to pursue and the specific skills needed for it. You can also search online for research internships, as many universities and research centers advertise them on their websites. Additionally, there are programs such as the National Science Foundation's Research Experiences for Undergraduates (REU) program that you can apply for. This program provides students with an opportunity to conduct research in a variety of areas, including particle and theoretical physics, and has a duration of up to 10 weeks. You may also be able to find other programs that are more specific to your field of interest. Good luck!

Related to Summer research internship in particle physics

1. What is particle physics?