Superpoincarè algebra and generators: questions

In summary, a high school student with an interest in math and physics posed several questions regarding different topics such as the Superpoincarè algebra, infinitesimal generators of general Lie algebras, classification of representations, and the derivation of the conformal killing equation in CFT. They also mentioned their previous knowledge in these subjects, including following video lectures and reading books. Other forum members provided helpful links and explanations to assist with the student's understanding.
rubbergnome
Hello everyone, I'm an high school student, but I try to study maths and physics at a decent level anyways. I have some questions to pose; to give you an idea of how could you guys answer me, i recently finished viewing David Tong's QED video lectures and notes, and I'm stuck at the CFT sections of his string theory notes. These are the questions:

1) Superpoincarè algebra:

I read in various references that the SUSY extension of the poincarè algebra is the simplest SUSY algebra one can get. I get why the generators have to be spinors, but nobody ever gives a derivation of the defining anticommutator

[tex]\left\{ Q_\alpha , \bar{Q}_{\dot \beta}\right\}=2\sigma_{\alpha \dot \beta}^{\mu} P_\mu[/tex]

simply defining the SUSY transformation to be such and such. Also, why are dots on the \beta index? I read this is a type of notation, but I don't know its usefulness. How is SUSY a continuous transformation? Doesn't it map bosons (integer spin) to fermions (half integer) etc. in a ladder?

2) Infinitesimal generators of general lie algebras:

I think I can safely say to understand what generators are, but it seems there isn't an unique an precise way to compute them. I found various ways but, especially in case of SO(p,q) lorentz transformations, I'm confused because I found two different kinds of generators. The first are

[tex]M_{\mu \nu} = x_\nu \partial_\mu - x_\mu \partial_\nu [/tex]