Swift or Objective-C first for iOS development?

• Thread starter ConfusedMonkey
  • Start date
In summary, for someone wanting to learn iOS development, it is recommended to start with Swift as it is the preferred language for iOS and is easier to learn than Objective-C. However, it is also suggested to eventually learn Objective-C for a more comprehensive understanding of iOS development. Additionally, for those interested in developing for both iOS and Android, learning Kotlin and Swift can provide a more universal skill set.
ConfusedMonkey
I want to learn iOS development. I want to learn both objective-c and swift, but I am having trouble deciding which one is the best one to start with. A lot of answers that I google are not helpful at all.

My background: I have some programming experience, but I have not dived deep into any language. I am not intimidated to learn anything that is considered very difficult. I think I am capable of learning at a swift pace.

So, which one first? Objective-C or Swift?

Technology news on Phys.org
I would do Swift as this is the language of choice for iOS. Once you're comfortable with the tools and the language then branch out into Objective-C. As some support for this suggestion:

https://www.infoworld.com/article/2...ive-c-10-reasons-the-future-favors-swift.html

For Android its a toss up between Java and Kotlin and in that case I would choose Kotlin as its arguably a better Java than Java.

Lastly, here's a comparision between Swift and Kotlin just so you know as apps for iOS sometimes get moved to Android for wider market appeal:

https://dev.to/sciencesoft/kotlin-v...-moving-towards-creating-a-universal-language

Likes ConfusedMonkey

Related to Swift or Objective-C first for iOS development?

1. Should I learn Swift or Objective-C first for iOS development?