Switching from mechanical engineering to physics

In summary, the conversation discusses a Mechanical Engineering student's concerns about losing interest in their major and considering switching to Physics. The student is unsure of their specific interests within Physics and is advised to carefully consider their decision and not make it on a whim. The possibility of finishing their ME degree and pursuing a Master's in Physics is also mentioned. The conversation also touches on the difference between Engineering and Science and the potential career paths available for both fields.
AdamA0
Hello,
I'm a Mechanical Engineering student about to begin my third year. After getting a little taste of what MechE's do, I find myself losing interest. I was undecided between MechE and Physics from the beginning, and I believe I'm preferring engineering only because of the jobs. I should also mention, that I enjoy the "theoretical" part of engineering, which leads me to think that I should be majoring in physics instead.
As to what field in physics I'm interested in, this is not quite clear to me. But, the point is I'm always interested in the very science itself that engineers "use". So, do you think I should make the switch?

Physics news on Phys.org
If you value wealth, if you would like to see yourself owning a big apartment, if you would like to drive a wonderful car, if you would like to live luxuriously, if you would like to wear top-notch clothes, if you would like to see your children live finely in the best schools with the best utilities, then become a mechanical engineer.