Theoretically, can perfectly flat spacetime exist in the Universe?

John Constantine
TL;DR Summary
Can perfectly flat spacetime exist in the universe?
According to general relativity, mass and energy cause the curvature of spacetime. To have perfectly flat spacetime, there must be a completely empty vacuum state with no mass or energy. Does this mean that perfectly flat spacetime cannot exist if mass and energy are present?

Let's assume that mass and energy are present in space. Theoretically, is it possible to create perfectly flat spacetime, even locally, by precisely arranging mass and energy in the universe?

I am not a physics major nor have I studied physics in depth; I am an ordinary person.

Physics news on Phys.org
John Constantine said:
Does this mean that perfectly flat spacetime cannot exist if mass and energy are present?
Except for special cases, yes. See further comments below.

John Constantine said:
is it possible to create perfectly flat spacetime, even locally, by precisely arranging mass and energy in the universe?
There is one known way to do it: create a perfectly spherical shell of matter with vacuum inside. The spacetime inside the shell will be flat. (But spacetime outside the shell will not.)

Likes John Constantine
PeterDonis said:
There is one known way to do it: create a perfectly spherical shell of matter with vacuum inside. The spacetime inside the shell will be flat. (But spacetime outside the shell will not.)
I think that only works on an already flat or spherically symmetric background. I don’t think a spherical shell gives you any “curvature shielding”

Likes Nik_2213
Dale said:
I think that only works on an already flat or spherically symmetric background.
Yes, spherical symmetry is required for the spacetime inside the shell to be exactly flat.

Likes Dale
This sounds more philosophical than physical: a variation on trees falling in empty forests making sounds or not.