Thermal Storage Simulation in TRNSYS Software

In summary: Your Name]In summary, Niall is studying the feasibility of domestic seasonal thermal storage in water tanks for his Final Year Project. He plans to use TRNSYS software for simulation but is facing limitations with the demo version, which only allows for 5 component simulations. Niall is seeking advice on whether or not it is possible to accurately model his system without the full version of TRNSYS and weather data and controllers are considered components. He is also considering alternative simulation software options while waiting for a response from his college regarding an educational license.
neil1one
Hi all,

As part of my Final Year Project I am studying the feasibility of domestic seasonal thermal storage in water tanks. I am hoping to model this system and have been looking at the TRNSYS software for doing so. I know that this is possible to do because I have seen a number of studies in which similar projects have been simulated using TRNSYS.

My Question is this, without the full version of TRNSYS, (I have sent a request to my college to obtain a educational license but have yet to hear back) could simulation be possible. The demo version, limited to 5 component simulations can be downloaded for free from the TRNSYS website. I know i will need to input 2x heat exchangers, storage vessel, load profile, solar collectors. Which is already up to 5 components. Is weather data and controllers considered to be components also and thus the possibility of modelling said system impossible?

Anybody who has any input on this your view would be much appreciated all the best

Niall

Engineering news on Phys.org

Dear Niall,

Thank you for sharing your project with us. It is great to see that you are considering the feasibility of domestic seasonal thermal storage in water tanks. This is an important area of research and has the potential to greatly impact energy efficiency in households.