Thought about a subnuclear reaction

• Thread starter Stuut
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Reaction
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of using implosion to improve energy production in nuclear reactions. This idea has been used in nuclear weapons and is now being explored in thermonuclear fusion experiments. However, the success of this method depends on the ability to generate the necessary pulses without disrupting the setup. Overall, the conversation highlights the potential of implosion in nuclear reactions and its current applications.
Stuut
Hi everyone,

I'm an engineer student, so I'm not an expert in nuclear reactions and subatomic physics, but I had a little thought experiment and I was wondering if there were any reachable subnuclear threshold to improve energy production.

Let's suppose a spherical (with IO) container of melted-salt thorium, for instance. This container is inside a second spherical container (with IO) of a liquid moderator. If we dispose "speakers" homogenously around the outter sphere that vibrates with a pulse of high amplitude at clock speed, the sound wave can be transmitted to the centre of the sphere where pressure increases tremendously (with minimal loss and sufficiently high amplitude).

Then, in the center of the inner sphere, can't we reach a higher reaction threshold ?

Thank you for reading until here and I'm looking for your opinion :)

Engineering news on Phys.org
Your basic idea is quite sound. It is called 'implosion' and it has been at the heart of nuclear weapons almost from the beginning.
Robert Christy is generally credited with the research to make it work with plutonium bombs.
Indeed, the Fat Man plutonium device used that same idea, except it had explosive lumps to provide the needed sound (pressure) pulse to compress the plutonium at the center enough for fission to take place.