Trouble downloading mathematica packages - probably a very quick solution

• Mathematica
  • Thread starter femtofranco
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Mathematica
In summary, your installation of Mathematica is not in place, and you are looking for a package that is not in the standard installation.
femtofranco
Hello, having usually used MatLab, I am just beginning to use Mathematica. I am having trouble locating packages, however. In particular, I'd like to download:

http://reference.wolfram.com/mathematica/VectorAnalysis/tutorial/VectorAnalysis.html (Vector Analysis)

http://reference.wolfram.com/mathematica/VariationalMethods/tutorial/VariationalMethods.html (Variational Methods)

Nonetheless, while I can find ample information about using the package on the website, I cannot actually find a download link. I am looking in the wrong place, or am I just oblivious? I honestly cannot find it.

Physics news on Phys.org
I cannot be certain that your installation of Mathematica is all in place, but if it is then the standard packages should already be installed in the Mathematica directories and all you need to do is to pull them in at the beginning of your notebook session.

The url you show demonstrates this. For example

<<VectorAnalysis`

followed by <shift><enter> should be enough to pull in the VectorAnalysis package.

You can then do something like the second line

SetCoordinates[Parabolodial[w1,w2,w3]]

and you should get the same output that the url shows.

IF you are trying to pull in some package that someone else wrote and that you need to grab from the net and put where Mathematica can find it then the process is almost the same, you just need to put it into an appropriate directory or give Mathematica a path to where you put it, but for the two you show you should not need to do that extra step.

Hello, sorry about the delay, but I was trying your solution.