Trying to self-learn undergrad calculus & physics?

In summary, the individual has completed their undergraduate degree in Oceanography but did not have to derive equations and had limited exposure to mathematical concepts. They are now looking to pursue a Masters in physical oceanography but need to improve their knowledge of Calculus and Physics. They have acquired textbooks and are considering studying both subjects simultaneously, seeking advice from others who have self-taught math. Some recommended resources include University Calculus by Hass, Weir & Thomas, University Physics by Sears & Zemanskys, Young and Freedman, and books on fluid mechanics and thermodynamics. The individual has also been cautioned against using Spivak's Calculus book for self-study and has been advised to approach self-study with a strong and organized plan
MathsLearner
I have finished my undergraduate degree in OCEANOGRAPHY where we used equations (but did not have to derive them) and I read up on maths concepts (e.g. Fourier transforms) but didnt learn them in class. I am looking to take a MASTERS in physical oceanography. I have not formally studied maths since GCSE, and to do the masters I need to know CALCULUS and PHYSICS. I looked into taking courses but could not find any suitable for me to do within a few months.

I have UNIVERSITY CALCULUS (Hass,Weir & Thomas) and UNIVERSITY PHYSICS (Sears & Zemanskys , Young and Freedman) which were bought for me by my professor who has encouraged me to improve my maths and physics because he thinks I am capable of doing well in physical oceanography. In addition I have bought SPIVAKS CALCULUS book after reading the reviews online and have just started with the 1st chapter. Should I study maths and physics together, or one before the other?

Does anyone have any advice for me as I am starting out? Any other stories from people who had to self learn maths?

Thanks!

Mathematics news on Phys.org