Tunnelling and special relativity

In summary: This is enough for many people to call it "non-local".But there is different interpretation of QM that does not require hidden variables. It is the many-worlds interpretation, and it is also deterministic. In that sense, there are no "true" positions, but the wavefunction evolves deterministically according to the Schrödinger equation, and that equation is local.So, either way, there is no need for hidden variables, and there are interpretations that do not have them.Zz.In summary, the conversation discusses the relationship between special relativity and quantum mechanics, and whether or not there are frames of reference in these theories. It is also mentioned that general relativity does not solve problems in quantum mechanics, and that
sj660
I have an undergraduate minor in astrophysics from a long time ago and have been brushing up to teach my kids, so I'm not an expert or even a great student of these things, but something I thought I'd log in and ask here:

If special relativity stands for the premise that there is no preferred frame of reference under constant velocity, but QM tells us that (1) we're not "really" anywhere, we're just probably at a certain 3-space coordinate, and (2) there is a nonzero chance that at any given instant I (or a particle of me?) could undergo what would amount to extreme (but perhaps not continuous?) acceleration and show up somewhere else entirely I would ask:

(a) Are there *any* frames of reference at all?
(b) Are there any frames of reference where constant velocity isn't just a high probability?
(c) Inasmuch as GR solves the problems for different accelerations,
(c1) how can QFT work without GR and
(c2) how can QFT work *with* SR?

Physics news on Phys.org
(a) Are there *any* frames of reference at all?
Reference frames are mathematical/physical constructions, not objects.

(b) Are there any frames of reference where constant velocity isn't just a high probability?