Understanding Colorless Particles: The Role of QCD and SU(3) Symmetry

In summary: That would mean that one has to develop a theory of "surface degrees of freedom" for QCD. Any ideas if this has been done somewhere?I am no expert on QCD, and mainly argue by extrapolation from QED, in...
paweld
How QCD explains the fact that all particles observed in nature transforms
under singlet representation of SU(3)-color group. What does it mean that
all other particles have zero color charge? What the color-charge operator
looks like?

Physics news on Phys.org
One must distinguish between color neutrality and color confinement.

Color neutrality can be derived directly from the field equations of QCD. This is most easily seen in the context of canonical quantization using the Weyl gauge A°=0. One equation is the so-called generalized Gauss constraint Ga(x)=0 which must be translated into an equation of constraint for physical states, i.e.
Ga(x) |phys> = 0
Integration this equation (and omitting surface terms - this is a small loophole of my argument) results in
Qa |phys> = 0
which means that all physical states are color singulets. As the Gauss law operator Ga(x) generates a local SU(3) symmetry this color neutrality is a direct consequence of the local gauge symmetry of QCD.

Color confinement is an even more restrictive property of QCD which means that several color charges forming a color-singulet state cannot be separated beyond the typical hadron length scale but are always confined in a very small volume. This is a dynamical property of QCD and is still not completely understood. Several approaches are due to the color-electric Meissner effect, Gribov-Zwanziger mechanism, center symmetry and center vortices. etc. I would have to find some references regarding the latest results.

tom.stoer said: