Understanding d=1/2gt^2 for Beginner Physics Students

• Thread starter holly
  • Start date
In summary, the ball in free-fall travels the same distance in x seconds, regardless of the gravitational acceleration. This is because the time is squared.
holly
Can't Understand t**2

I hope I won't get blasted for asking for help on something everyone else in my introductory physics class can grasp: I cannot understand, in my heart, the d=1/2gt**2 formula when determining the distance a ball in free-fall travels in x seconds with the 1/2 g being 4.9. I recognize when to use it. I can parrot it. But I just can't grasp why the time is being squared, tho' I know that gives the right answer. It seems to me that a second is a second. I'm not able to get more seconds out of a second! The idea of meters per second I can grasp. But the idea of squaring the SECONDS I just can't get. I'm just a lowly sonography student taking physics. Any help on grasping why we're squaring time would be appreciated. I have tried and tried to figure it out.

Physics news on Phys.org
The gravitational acceleration is 9.8 meters per square second.

The object falling gains 9.8 meters/sec of velocity in each second it falls.

Its velocity increases 9.8 meters per second... per second. The acceleration is thus 9.8 m/s/s, or 9.8 m/s^2.

Do you know calculus? There's also a clean explanation there: you differentiate position with respect to time once to get velocity. You differentiate it again with respect to time to get acceleration. Acceleration has to deal with second-order time quantities.

- Warren

Originally posted by holly
I hope I won't get blasted for asking for help on something everyone else in my introductory physics class can grasp: ..

2 points:

1. You won't get blasted; this isn't that kind of forum.