Understanding PIN Photodetector Bandwidth for Vibration Sensing

In summary,The bandwidth of a PIN photodiode is limited to frequencies between 400 and 1000 nm. A 1 MHz carrier illumination will phase modulate the vibration intensity and generate an intensity-modulated signal.
roujhan
I'm trying to design a fiber optic sensor to sense vibration via intensity modulation.
I'm new in this field and i don't know whether I can use a PIN photodetector for low frequency or not... what's the bandwidth of a PIN Photodetector? Does it mean its responsivity is limited in low frequency? Could you please tell me what does the "bandwidth" mean exactly in PIN Photodetector?

I really appreciate for your prompt answer.

Engineering news on Phys.org
Are you talking about the optical (spectral) bandwidth (light frequency or wavelength(~ 400 to ~1000 nm)) or the modulating frequency bandwidth (dc-~250 MHz)?

Dear Bob;
thanks for your attention...

I mean the modulating frequency bandwidth. e.g. the second page of the attached file mention the Low and high Cut-off Frequency.

Or: Please see the "bandwidth" in :
http://qphotonics.com/catalog/Fiber-coupled-InGaAs-PIN-photodiode-p-180.html
this point to minimum and maximum bandwidth. does it mean in lower frequency, the responsivity is reduced? or... what?

I've read somewhere that in low frequency the PIN Photodetector acts as usual photodetector. Is it true? So why in the papers it have been mentioned that high speed PIN photodetectors are used for detecting signals only about 300KHz or so...

Attachments

• TPT48xx.pdf
    278 KB · Views: 354
Last edited by a moderator:
I don't understand the high 3dB point of 1MHz for a 1.25Gbps receiver, but the low 3db point is probably there to help limit noise at the output. Since the receiver is optimized for modulation frequencies up around 1GHz, there is no need to pass low-frequency content, which only adds to noise with no signal content.