Understanding the Speed of Light: A Thought Experiment

In summary, the conversation discusses the speed of light and its independence from the frame of reference. The speed of light is an axiom in special relativity and is experimentally verified to have a fixed value, c, in any equivalent frames. This leads to some interesting effects such as time dilation for objects moving at near lightspeed. The conversation also touches on the topic of mathematical knowledge needed to understand these concepts.
bil.a
I'm still really confused about the speed of light. I'm kinda new at this so bear with me. Does the speed of light depend on the frame of reference it is in? For example let's say you have a ball moving at 10m/s in a car moving at 20m/s. This would mean that from the Earth's frame of reference the ball is moving 30m/s.

But what if you had a car moving half the speed of light. And a man in the car fired a light gun traveling at the maximum speed of light. What would the speed of the light from the gun be from the Earth's frame of reference.

Wouldn't it be 1.5 the speed of light? Why or why not is this not possible?

Physics news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF.

bil.a said:
Does the speed of light depend on the frame of reference it is in?

It doesn't. Actually, that is one of the axioms that the whole of special relativity follows from, and it is experimentally verified to great accuracy. That is, in two "equivalent" frames (moving with constant velocity with respect to the other) the speed of light always has some fixed value, c.

Now, when you perform your thought experiment, all kinds of weird stuff follows (like, when you use the light gun in your moving car to construct a clock, it will tick slower to a spectator along the track).

hmmm so does this mean that the light fired from the gun will move have a slower time interval once it reaches maximum speed observed from the earth?

bil.a said: