Voltage/Frequency/Current Question

• Thread starter twoducks
  • Start date
In summary, the conversation discusses the concept of electrical phenomenon and how different devices can draw different amounts of current from a static frequency and voltage source. The issue of resistance is also brought up and the idea of the utility company providing a reservoir of electricity that is drained by the devices plugged into it. The conversation also touches on the differences between AC and DC circuits and the role of the electric field in electricity.
twoducks
Hey there, newbie here. =)

ive been reading up/pondering on electrical phenomenon recently and I am still working out the conceptual constructs in my head - which brings me here!

the issue I am wrestling with today is how, as i understand it, different amounts of energy can be moved with a static frequency and voltage (and presumably static speed of wave propagation?).

so i got my 110v 60hz(where i live) AC current coming out of the wall(well jiggling out / in i suppose).
but different devices draw different amounts of current from this source.

it seems contrary to my sense of reason that, based on a static amplitude(voltage) and a static frequency (60hz in this case) at a static rate of wave propagation, to be able to move different amounts of energy.

so how can i conceptualize the mechanism by which the refrigerator "uses" more power than the clock on my desk?

i realize there is a factor which i neglected to mention that is resistance. and i have read that less resistance = more current. (I=v/r)
however i am not able to reconcile, for example, how the utility company can charge more to run a refrigerator than a clock if the signal they send is the same for both.

-two ducks

Engineering news on Phys.org
Welcome to PF;
The term "static" does not really work with the concept of things moving with a speed - d you mean "constant" or something?