What Are Orbital Vectors and How Do I Calculate Them?

In summary, Solistics is having difficulty calculating orbits and is seeking help from others. The most important thing for him to do is to understand the basics of Kepler's laws.
Solistics
I'm fairly new to astrophysics, but I'm genuienly interested on knowing how to calculate orbits. I've been trying to do so on my own but I just find myself extremely frustrated. :confused: I'm trying to figure out what orbital vectors are and how i can calculate them using known orbital parameters. If i can get over this hurdle i should be all set.:approve:

thanks.

P.S. any sites that are helpful (lists of equations, sources etc.) would be appreciated.

Last edited:
Astronomy news on Phys.org
Although I have never attempted to calculate the orbits I would say it would be it would

be a VERY tedious job to do. I would also think that you would need calculus to be able

to calculate accurately.

ok, I'm having difficulties in finding the velocity of the moon from a certain distance from the earth,

the equation I'm using is the vis-viva equation:

v=[tex]\sqrt({}\mu*(2/r-1/a))[/tex]

[tex]\mu=GM[/tex]=3.98694E+14

r=radial distance from focus to orbiting object=369397 km (periapsis of moon)
a=semi-major axis=3847487 km

the end value that i got is 45332.04235 m/s !
somethings not right!

Try as I might I cannot reproduce your result. You are probably doing multiple things wrong.
  1. The equation is
    [tex]v=\sqrt{\mu\left(\frac 2 r - \frac 1 a\right)}[/tex]
    Did you take the square root of the whole thing?

2. μE is 398,600.442 km3/s2, or 3.98600442×1014 m3/s2.
    A couple of things to note:
    • This value is known very precisely. The error in μE is very, very small compared to the error in G. (Almost 9 significant digits versus 4 or so.)
    • UNITS, UNITS, UNITS. You have a number, no units. Lack of attention to units is most likely one of the sources of your error.