What classes should I take in high school to prepare for medical school?

• Courses
  • Thread starter Felicity2602
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Classes
In summary, it is important for high school students to take college preparatory mathematics and science courses to prepare for college and medical school. In addition, participating in extracurricular activities and volunteering in the medical field can also make a student stand out to colleges and medical schools. It is also recommended to consult MCAT prep books and research the prerequisite courses for medical schools. Starting early with patient contacts and first aid courses can help students determine if a career in medicine is right for them. Volunteering at events like an Ironman Triathlon can also provide valuable experiences and insights from professionals in the field.
Felicity2602
I am currently a sophomore in high school. It is my dream to go to a very good college and from there to medical school. I need help deciding which classes will be best to take in the next two years to really prepare myself for the course work of college and further on medical school.
In my freshman year I took Adv. Algebra 1 and Biology.
In addition I was wondering what other things would make me stand out to colleges, especially for a science major, aside from my academics.

Thank you to everyone who replies :)

Physics news on Phys.org
You need college preparatory Mathematics for all of your high school years, and as much or whatever science and related courses you can manage at your high school.

Likes Felicity2602
I think extracurriculars regarding science will also help, as will work experience/volunteering.

There's no perfect formula. I think the real key is to be fully engaged and passionate about the things that you choose to do. Make choices in elective courses and extra-curricular activities because you're interested in them, not because you think they will look good on a college or medical school application.