What do we know about Holons and Spinons?

• Thread starter FeDeX_LaTeX
  • Start date
In summary, the holon and spinon are quasiparticles that are not the same as fundamental particles. They are used to understand the behavior of electrons in a many-body system. These quasiparticles are not accepted in the same way as fundamental particles, but their existence can be verified through experiments.
FeDeX_LaTeX
Gold Member
Hi;

What do we know about the holon and the spinon (the 2 particles that make up an electron)? And have these been accepted in physics?

Thanks

Physics news on Phys.org
So I've heard that the holon is also called the chargon, which carries the charge of the electron. The spinon is responsible for the spin of the electron, then?

FeDeX_LaTeX said:
Hi;

What do we know about the holon and the spinon (the 2 particles that make up an electron)? And have these been accepted in physics?

Thanks

Im no expert on the matter, but I think you might be misinterpreting what a holon and spinon actually are. According to Wikipedia they are quasiparticles. Quasiparticles and particles are not the same thing. The electron is still thought to be a fundamental particle (cannot be divided). Quasiparticles are a way of understanding the behavior of the electron.

FeDeX_LaTeX said:
Hi;

Thanks

You definitely have misinterpreted what these are.

Note that if I have bare, non-interacting electrons, the concept of "holons" and "spins" don't exist, the same way the concept of "phonon" does not exist in a non-interacting system. These are many-body excitations, a collective effect. Their existence are verifiable. But they are not used in the way that you are thinking of.

Zz.

I think I get it, but I sort of don't at the same time. Are you saying it is like stating that a wave can be split up into two particles that carry amplitude and frequency?

So how do we know the holon and spinon quasiparticles exist?