What is the formula for variable mass systems and rockets?

In summary, the conversation is about studying variable mass systems and rockets, and the formula v=u*ln M0/M is introduced, where v is the velocity of the rocket, M0 is the initial mass, M is the mass after a certain time, and u is the velocity of the ejected gas. The mass is being lost at a constant rate and the person is asking for help with the derivation of this equation. They mention they are just starting to learn integration and are having trouble with the integrand.
UchihaClan13
Okay guys
I am studying variable mass systems and rockets,as such
I was introduced to the formula v=u*ln M0/M
where v is the velocity of the rocket after a time t
M0is the initial mass of the rocket,M is the mass of the rocket after time t
u is the velocity of the ejected gas w.r.t to the rocket
The mass is being lost(in the form of fuel being used up to propel the rocket and provide it the required upward force) at a constant rate r=-dM/dt

Could any of you guys help me with the derivation of this "useful" equation?
I just started learning integration
Hence i can't figure out the integrand so easily
Thanks in advance!:)
UchihaClan13

Physics news on Phys.org
UchihaClan13 said:
Could any of you guys help me with the derivation of this "useful" equation?
If you give us a link to a specific derivation and tell us exactly where you get "stuck", someone can probably help you.

Okay I will
Thank you:)

Related to What is the formula for variable mass systems and rockets?

1. What is rocket propulsion?

Rocket propulsion is the process of generating thrust to move a rocket through space. This is typically achieved by expelling high-velocity exhaust gases from the rear of the rocket.

2. How do rockets overcome the Earth's gravity?