What is the Meaning of First Principle in Chemistry?

• Thread starter sandf
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Principle
In summary, the terms 'ad initio' and 'ab-initio' are used in different ways and have different meanings. Laplace used 'ad initio' to mean that he did not need to go through the process of proving things, while 'ab-initio' referred to the starting point of the process. Fermat never provided a proof of the bombshell he left us with, and Andrew Wiles sorted it out twice 358 years later.
sandf
TL;DR Summary
What is the difference among the expression of "first principle, first principles, first-principles, and first-principle calculaltion"
Dear all,
I am sorry if the topic is not appropriate in this subForum.
As a chemist, I am confused by the expression of "first principle, first principles, first-principles, and first-principle calculaltion".
In chemistry, we only use "ab-initio".

Best regards.
Youzhao Lan
Department of Chemistry,College of Chemistry and Life Sciences,
Zhejiang Normal University,
Jinhua, Zhejiang,
321004, China.

Physics news on Phys.org
You could also use 'ex ante' or 'a priori' or 'de primis principiis' ##-## they all have similar meanings ##-## the differences are apt to be of primarily merely stylistic import.

Likes sophiecentaur
sysprog said:
merely stylistic import
This can be a problem. Using terms that are way above the basic level of a technical discussion can be seen as a 'weapon' to establish the correctness of an argument. There's probably an equally posh term for that kind of thing. ;-)

I would say that the term 'ad initio' should be used amongst people who also use and recognise it. The way you read "first principle" should perhaps be based on context where it's used. This English language can be a minefield and can carry all sorts of hidden messages which may or may not have been put there deliberately. Many technical discussions can most safely be interpreted using the Maths rather than the linking comments.