What Major Should I Choose to Combine Engineering and Programming?

In summary, a high-school student is considering what profession to focus on for college and wonders if aerospace engineering is the right choice. They think about the skills they have and realize that they are competent in programming and engineering, but want to focus on one or the other. They recommend focusing on robotics or control systems if you want to be a good engineer.
Micard
Happy Thanksgiving to you! I am a high-school student and I'm a senior. I'm very interested in engineering and programming, and also space. Could you please help me decide what profession or career to choose? I mean major in college. The first thing that comes to mind is Aerospace engineering, but it is different, there are different engineers in this field. Plus, it doesn't or almost doesn't involve programming. Before considering engineering I was completely sure I was going to become a computer programmer. I have skills in both programming and some engineering, I have done some projects with Arduino, Raspberry Pi, and did stuff myself like Tesla Coils (just for fun). I want my job to involve a descent amount of time programming and also engineering. I like making stuff or thinking about how to make stuff, like how to make an engine (I have a project of a rocket controlled by raspberry pi with a diy engine, that can stabilize the rocket etc). And I also like space. Well, this is more optional. If you can give me some suggestions that don't include space - it's fine. Thank you in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
A friend of mine recently came up with the theory: "If you are good with computers, no matter what field you do your degree in you will always end up programing". Sounds silly, but I did not have a counter-example at hand (in fact I actively try to get away from programming but always end up doing it). I am pretty sure that if you want to program you will find a lot of opportunities to do so in engineering.