What role plays chemistry in a physics career

In summary, the main difference between the three types of physics is that applied physics deals with problems that are similar to engineering problems, theoretical physics deals with problems that cannot easily be replicated in experiments, and experimental physics involves experiments that don't necessarily have practical applications.
toxique
Hi there, i am new to this forum, two questions...

1) what is the difference between physics areas: applied, classical, theortetical, quantum et al.

2) what role plays chemistry in a physics career, is it necessary to be really skilled in chemistry? sometimes thery overlapp

Thanks for the advice
Best regards.

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, I am a freshman at Uni. I cannot give you an in depth answer for the first one. [may be other mebers on this thread will come later?] but about the second question:

Well, the "skills" you need for chem are almost the same skills you need for physics: Handling mathematical equations, good algebra solving ...etc even it varies a little bit in how important each of these skills are in chem and phyis fields.

My experience tells me that they overlap in some places and it helps you know sometimes how chem look at the thingy to understand how phys look at it, For example gases PV=nRT is a famous topic that physics nad chem share, still. After a while they expaned the gases topics differenlty.

In short, taking a physics career will not require some body to "love" chem, and thus to take it.

Hi there

thanx moses for your reply

I was about to start a career in chem next year but decided for electronics instead.
(indeed i love and will miss chem but electr has to do more with my current job in IT)
Both of them share math, also phys but strangely with different topics. Sure, there are also plenty of phys-related topics scattered all over.
Which one of the careers has more of physics or applied-physics stuff ?
Did i take the right decision?