When can I start applying for REU?

• Admissions
  • Thread starter QuarkCharmer
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Reu
In summary, this student does not feel that they would be of any use to research opportunities and does not have the background or experience to be of much help.
QuarkCharmer
Currently, I have taken Calculus I, Physics I, Chemistry II, and I have taught myself half of Calculus II and Physics II so far. I will know the material before I take the courses next semester. So, after the fall I will have Calc/Phy II, and fully plan to teach myself Calc 3 and another subject before starting those courses in the spring. I also have a working knowledge of non-calc based statistics (from a course) for what it's worth.

I want to apply to various research opportunities, but I simply don't feel they would find me useful at all. I am a third year student, with a 3.98 GPA at a big state university. I know that I am a little behind, and the reason I did not apply for a summer position this year is because a.) How could I possibly be of help? and b.) I figured it was more important to attend school during the summers to catch up on all the courses I need. I had to take intermediate algebra and all that to make up for my non-existent high school education from a poverty stricken district. I don't know if it really matters, but I am not a native american, female, or otherwise diverse.

Do they consider levels of education when going through applications? In that respect, would I stand a chance of getting into any program? If this is not currently possible, what courses should I have completed before applying?

Thanks,
QC

Physics news on Phys.org
You've got a chance, but one of the biggest things REU advisers look for is previous research experience. Why don't you start at your own school? If you're at a state university, you've got plenty of opportunities for research there. Ask your professors before trying to go somewhere else.