Where in STEM can I expect to use dual basis, dual map, annihilator?

zenterix
I find the topics of dual space, dual basis, dual map, and annihilator quite abstract.

I understand the proofs in the book I am reading (Linear Algebra Done Right), and I can solve problems. But after a few weeks without doing any linear algebra I forget what these concepts are and the reason is that I haven't seen them in other subjects in the past and I don't see them in any other subject that I am currently studying (thermodynamics, special relativity, differential equations, electromagnetism).

Where in STEM can I expect to see these linear algebra topics used?

Physics news on Phys.org
Dual spaces and dual bases are used in differential forms, tensors, QM, GR.

Likes zenterix
In general: differential geometry, tensor algebra, i.e. everywhere in physics. You are right, the concept is mathematically a bit boring if you only consider finite-dimensional vector spaces with an inner product. This changes if you look at the correspondence of tangent vectors and derivations on ##C^\infty (\mathbb{R}^n)##,
$$
v\longleftrightarrow \left(v(f)=\left. \dfrac{d}{dt}\right|_{t=0}f(p+tv)\right)
$$
or investigate the computational complexity of bilinear multiplications,
$$
(x,y) \longmapsto \operatorname{min}\left\{r\, \left| \,x\cdot y =\sum_{\rho=1}^r u_\rho(x)v_\rho(y)W_\rho \right.\right\}
$$
or simply try to understand what a ##(2,1)##-tensor is.

Related to Where in STEM can I expect to use dual basis, dual map, annihilator?

Where in STEM can I expect to use dual basis, dual map, annihilator in Physics?

In Physics, particularly in areas like Quantum Mechanics and General Relativity, dual basis and dual maps are often used. For instance, in Quantum Mechanics, dual vectors (bra vectors) are essential in the formulation of quantum states. In General Relativity, tensors and their duals are crucial for describing the curvature of spacetime.