Where to find nonprofessional collaborators/science friends?

• Thread starter Jeredin
  • Start date
Jeredin
I've been studying cosmology and physics for nearly 20 years as a nonprofessional, as a hobbyist. I've found forums fantastic for general public discussion but sometimes shallow as it depends on activity and a bit of luck on who chooses to comment. As I'm new and exploring this forum, have I missed a good thread for trying to make science friends or collaborators on ideas? I have no interest in disrupting the mainstream forum with prohibited personal pet-theory developments and the like, so I'm desperately seeking a means of meeting others while following rules here. I've tried discord science channels for this but activity is very random. I'm severally intellectually lonely and just want a deeper science friend/collaborator than what public discussions allow.

Thanks for any advice, guidance or insight.

Likes pinball1970 and WWGD
Physics news on Phys.org
Likes pinball1970, russ_watters and Jeredin
Do you have any universities nearby where you live? If so, check out their Physics department to see if they have any meetings or colloquia coming up. If you can attend, you might start to find some folks that you can have informal discussions with.

Do you have a community college near you? If so, you could take some part-time Physics classes to see if you enjoy that, as well as start to meet others with an interest in Physics.

Likes pinball1970 and russ_watters
Just make sure, if you look online, Google doesn't switch ' Cosmology', to ' Cosmetology', as happened with my friend.

• Haha
Likes collinsmark, robphy, russ_watters and 3 others
Jeredin said:
I've been studying cosmology and physics for nearly 20 years as a nonprofessional
Jeredin said:
I see the incompleteness and conservatism in physics/cosmology.