Which Books Simplify Weights and Roots in Lie Algebra?

In summary, the conversation is about studying Lie Algebra in Particle Physics and finding the notes on Weights and Roots confusing. The person asks for book recommendations and receives suggestions for books by Humphreys, Hsiang, and Brian Hall. They specify that they are looking for a more physics-oriented book but will still try the recommended options. One of the books, Hsiang's "Lectures on Lie groups," is noted as being more math-oriented with no applications to physics.
praharmitra
Hi,

I am currently studying Lie Algebra in Particle Physics' by Howard Georgi. I am finding the notes on Weights and Roots quite confusing. Can anyone suggest another book which explains this bit in a better fashion?

Physics news on Phys.org
praharmitra said:
Hi,

I am currently studying Lie Algebra in Particle Physics' by Howard Georgi. I am finding the notes on Weights and Roots quite confusing. Can anyone suggest another book which explains this bit in a better fashion?

Humphreys,
Introduction to Lie algebras and representation theory

See also
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Weight_(representation_theory )

Last edited by a moderator:
If you are mathematically inclined, this is a good one:

Hsiang - Lectures on Lie groups

Thanks for the replies. I will try out the books you have mentioned. However, ii was looking for a book that is more physics orientated. I will try both nonetheless.

The one by Brian Hall is nice, but not at all physics oriented. I haven't had time to read the whole book though. The definitions of roots and weights is roughly where I stopped reading, so I can't really comment on the material after that (but the definitions were easy enough to understand).

Last edited:
torquil said:
If you are mathematically inclined, this is a good one:

Hsiang - Lectures on Lie groups

Perhaps I should also mention that this one has absolutely nothing to do with physics, i.e. no applications to physics. Just math.