Which courses should I cover to become involved in string theory?

In summary: I had studied on my own.In summary, self-study is not a good option for someone with a PhD in topology.
sinaphysics
Hello everybody.
I have a BSc in physics, I tried hardly recent two years to get high scores in GRE/TOEFL exams to get accepted in U.S. and continue my education in physics,however, I rejected badly. First I thought by myself to leave physics, I gambled whole my future for physics and now I'm trapped in a bad situation. Now, I think that I should study physics by myself without an institution. I'm interested in String Theory. Is it possible to map the path that I should pass to reach the point that a PhD student in string theory should be? Please include the courses and best books for that courses.

Physics news on Phys.org
What makes you think that you can study on your own and reach a level of PhD student?

Zz.

I'm living in a deprived area and self-study is what I've done for whole of my life. And it's truly very hard to study the resources regularly without being delayed on the schedule. However I think this is the only choice I have,otherwise, I should escape Iran illegally. :D

OK, this website is heavily detailed about the topics but I think there are still better resources than what mentioned there. For example I prefer Sadri Hassani mathematical methods. I know because of copyright law, the resources couldn't be so varied. So please call the other books that can be useful for me(not just free ones).

Here is a list with the required mathematical background for superstrings: http://www.superstringtheory.com/math/index.html
A very good book for advanced undergraduates is Zwiebach's First Course in String Theory.

sinaphysics said: