Which courses should I take for a concentration in Astronomy?

In summary, the individual is an undergraduate Physics major in their third year and is interested in specializing in Astronomy or Astrophysics for their Masters and PhD. They have already taken all available astronomy courses at their school and are considering taking Optics and Lasers, as well as courses in quantum mechanics or photonics. They are also advised to take a class in computational physics or gain computer skills through research as it is crucial for astronomy-related work.
juliact15
I am an undergraduate Physics major in my third year, and I'd like to concentrate in Astronomy or Astrophysics when I obtain my Masters and PhD. What kinds of physics classes should I take in preparation for this? I've already taken all explicitly-astronomy courses at my school. I was thinking Optics and Lasers, since they're crucial for communication and instrument design (e.g. for telescopes). But the scope has to be larger than that. What about quantum mechanics or photonics? Which disciplines of physics are most important? Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
If you're going to be doing anything astronomy-related, take a class in computational physics! Or better yet, try to learn lots of computer stuff through research.

Related to Which courses should I take for a concentration in Astronomy?

1. What are the required courses for an Astronomy concentration?

The specific required courses for an Astronomy concentration may vary depending on the university or program. However, common requirements may include introductory courses in astronomy, physics, and mathematics, as well as more advanced courses in astrophysics, cosmology, and observational astronomy.

2. Do I need a strong background in math and science to pursue an Astronomy concentration?