Which Is Better for Theoretical Physics, ETH Zurich or LMU Munich?

• Thread starter Gargle Blaster
  • Start date
In summary, the individual is studying physics and is interested in applying for a master's degree in theoretical and mathematical physics at two schools next year. They are seeking advice on the schools and are particularly interested in quantum information theory. While one school may not have a research group dedicated to QI, it may still have resources available and the individual can consider completing a PhD in QI at another school after their master's degree.
Gargle Blaster
I'm studying physics (second year) and I would like to apply for a master degree (in theoretical and mathematical physics) at these two schools next year.

I would like to ask if anybody here has any experience with these two schools?

I'm particulary interested in quantum information theory, but also string theory
and high energy physics are interesting - I'm not really decided yet (maybe QI a little more).

As far as I know, unlike Munich, there is no research on QI on ETH.

On the other hand ETH is more famous and Zurich is a great city :smile: .

Would it be a problem to do a master degree at a school without any QI research and then do a PhD on QI somewhere else?

Thanks for any help.

Physics news on Phys.org
Hi there! I have not personally attended either of the schools you mentioned, however I can offer some insight.

Regarding quantum information theory, it is true that ETH Zurich may not have a research group dedicated to that area. But that doesn't necessarily mean they don't have the resources. It's worth reaching out to faculty members who are doing research that relates to your interests to learn more about what opportunities might be available.