Which Mathematics Books are Essential for Studying Physics?

In summary, a high school student is planning to study physics in college and wants to improve their math skills beforehand. They have access to two books, Introduction to Mathematics in Physics by Glenn Fletcher and Mathematical Techniques: An Introduction for the Engineering, Physical, and Mathematical Sciences by Jordan and Smith, and are looking for recommendations on which one to use. Both books cover standard material, such as calculus and multivariable calculus, which are important for classical physics. Additionally, the books also cover topics relevant to quantum mechanics, such as vector spaces and eigenvalues. It is suggested to use both books as they may explain concepts differently.
ItsImpulse
Hey there PF, I'm currently a high school student and I'm planning to do physics in college when I get there. However, I want to get my math up to scratch before I go deeper into it. I do have undergraduate level texts for physics but not for mathematics. I have managed to borrow 2 books, Introduction to Mathematics in Physics by Glenn Fletcher and Mathematical Techniques: An Introduction for the Engineering, Physical, and Mathematical Sciences by Jordan and Smith. I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience with any of these books and could suggest which to use. Thanks :)

Physics news on Phys.org
I haven't read either, but looked through the table of contents for Jordan and Smith on Amazon, and it looks great. Probably Fletcher's book is good too, since the material is pretty standard. You could use both. Sometimes one text explains it better for you than another. As an example of how standard the material is, you can also look at Nearing's free text http://www.physics.miami.edu/~nearing/mathmethods/.