Why Can't I Understand Advanced Math in Physics?

In summary, the conversation discusses a 16-year-old student's interest in quantum and astrophysics, but struggles to understand the advanced math necessary for these subjects. The expert emphasizes that it is normal not to understand this math at the high school level and reassures the student that they will have plenty of opportunities to learn it in college. They also suggest considering studying mathematics in addition to physics. Finally, the expert advises the student not to worry and reminds them that university will start them off at a level they can understand and take them forward step by step.
Dayton Sigurdsson
To start off I am a 16 year old student with a passion for learning and understanding the universe I live in. I maintain a very high average in math and the sciences, and am at the top of almost all my classes, that being said I also attend the worst school in my district, and very very few students have any amount of academic interest whatsoever. Going back to the title of the post I spend most of my free-time reading about quantum, and astrophysics but the math is completely foreign to me. Despite constantly trying to teach myself through books and videos(and asking for help from teachers to no avail) I'm unable to comprehend any of this advanced math. Long story short: I'm not able to understand the math behind the physics, and am extremely anxious about entering post-secondary insight from anyone who's been in this position would be very helpful.

Physics news on Phys.org
Dayton Sigurdsson said:
Going back to the title of the post I spend most of my free-time reading about quantum, and astrophysics but the math is completely foreign to me.