Will poor grades later in my degree affect my chances of doing a PhD?

heyypenguin
First I'll provide some background. I'm studying Physics at a top-ranked university in the UK, doing a 4-year integrated Master's. My grades in the first two years were relatively strong, getting a first in both years. My third year however I dealt with a lot of personal issues which were then compounded by the loss of a friend over the Easter break. My anxiety was through the roof and unsurprisingly I performed worse on this year's exams. For this year I averaged a 67 overall with one particularly poor paper of 49.

I've seen a lot of threads asking about poor grades, but all of them had poor grades at the start of their degree which improved later on. The responses to this were that professors are usually fine as you're showing an upward trend. I'm really concerned that to a potential advisor my grades will look like they're on the decline and that will make me a much worse potential candidate. How willing do you think professors will be to overlook a bad exam season, when it's the most recent one I have to show for? If I end my degree with a 2:1 that's trended downwards will grad schools consider taking me? I have three research internships under my belt which I hope can demonstrate some potential, but I just don't know how big a deal breaker degree results are.

Thank you very much for any advice, from a worried student who just really wants to do research!

Physics news on Phys.org
I know nothing of the UK system [American].

But I myself began suffering from severe anxiety, and I know first hand how difficult it may be. My symptons are physical.

Make sure you speak to a medical provider as soon as possible to get it under control.

Things that helped me were eating a bit better. No caffeine [ I would drink a construction worker size large thermose of coffee + 2 grande size cups a day]. No alchohol.