Writing a story about a college math student

In summary, the conversation revolved around a writer seeking help for a story involving a college math student and needing an example of a question, process, and solution in Differential Geometry involving a "Submersion". The question was specifically for a Riemannian manifold with a surjective submersion and a transitive action by a lie group on the fibers. The solution was to show the existence of a unique metric on the manifold N that makes p a Riemannian submersion. The writer expressed gratitude for any help given.
Jared1
Hello, everyone:

I have a bit of a strange question, but I am a writer and I'm writing a story about a college math student. What I'm in need of is an example of a question in Differential Geometry involving a "Submersion" (preferably a word problem), the process, and the solution.

The math question will come to parallel the events in the main character's life.

If anyone can give me an example of a question, process, and solution, it would be warmly appreciated. Please feel free to post on here, or e-mail me at jared.shipley@hotmail.com.

Thanks, everyone!
Jared S.

Physics news on Phys.org

Does anyone have any suggestions for this?

Hello?

Let (M,g) be a Riemannian manifold, N be a manifold, and p:M->N a surjective submersion. Suppose also that there exists a lie group G acting transitively on the fibers of p, with p(g*x) = p(x) for all g in G, x in M. Show that there exists a unique metric h on N such that p is a Riemannian submersion.

This will be great! Thank you so much! I appreciate it!

Related to Writing a story about a college math student

1. What makes a good story about a college math student?

A good story about a college math student should have a strong and relatable protagonist, compelling conflicts and challenges, and an engaging plot that incorporates mathematical concepts or themes.

2. How can I accurately portray a college math student in my story?