Adding silver to bronze in foundry

• Thread starter gregfoundry
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Silver
In summary, the speaker is an artist who wants to add silver and tin to bronze for resonance in their musical instruments. They have no experience in alloy production but have worked with investment casting and are considering adding antimony. They are also open to using recycled bronze instead. The speaker is curious about the science behind the effect of these metals on sound quality and is interested in learning more about basic metallurgy to better understand the process of mixing metals.
gregfoundry
Hi I am just curious as to how to add silver and tin to bronze to change its sound... I am making some musical instruments that need to have these metals included for resonance. Being an artist with a small foundry just for casting my own work I have no experience in the production of alloys ... although I have some experience with the process of investment casting and a little in sand and ceramic shell. I have copper, tin, silver and am thinking of maybe adding antmony . If it is easier I can get recycled bronze and just add the extras to that ...maybe...? Would be grateful for any help or to be pointed in the right direction for help
Greg

Engineering news on Phys.org
What dictates that silver and tin need to be added for resonance?

Just interested!

As far as I know you can add lead as well...some how the sound quality changes to what is wanted for bells,cymbals etc. I think maybe my word resonance may have been incorrect. These softer metals seem to maybe slow the sound waves and create undertones that just make for a nicer sound. I am wanting to add silver instead of lead because it just is nicer to work with. But I do not really know in a scientific sense why this happens. I guess my question really lies in basic metallurgy of which I am becoming more and more interested. Still keen to know how to mix these metals.

Related to Adding silver to bronze in foundry