Did the Big Bang Really End or Are We Still in It?

• Thread starter ChasSanford
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Big bang
In summary: When did the Big Bang end is a difficult question to answer because it could be said to be ongoing. The expansion of the universe may eventually come to a close but we have no idea when that will be.
ChasSanford
Your indulge is greatly appreciated. I am a not a scientist. I am a historian who is fascinated by science. My questions are:

How long did the Big Bang last? When did the Big Bang end? Alternate questions are: Did the Big Bang “happen” 14.7 billions years ago? Or did the Big Bang “begin” 14.7 billion years ago?

In trying to understand inflation, the relative weakness of gravity, dark energy, an infinitely expanding universe vs. the Big Crunch, etc., etc., I have often wondered if I am seeing – as the ancients did – the sun and the night sky revolving around the Earth.

I understand that the following point is not analogous to the singularity, the resultant Big Bang, etc., so again, I ask your indulgence. In any case, an insect lands on a firework that has been loaded into a canister for firing. Twenty seconds later, the “unconscious” insect is falling to the ground along with the spent residue of the firework. However, the insect survives to document “each conscious second” of its amazing journey.

How would the insect describe its Big Bang event? It absolutely depends on when it lost consciousness – after one second – after ten seconds – after fifteen seconds. As for our Big Bang event, we know when the detonation took place – but do we know if we have even cleared the canister yet?

Space news on Phys.org
ChasSanford said:
... Did the Big Bang “happen” 14.7 billions years ago? Or did the Big Bang “begin” 14.7 billion years ago?