Poligraph tests test resistance or conductance?

However, in reality, the correct answer is often the one that is most relevant to the situation at hand and makes the most sense. In this case, both resistance and conductance play a role in measuring different aspects of the body's response to stimuli. In summary, a polygraph test measures both skin resistance and conductance, as they are interconnected and both contribute to understanding the body's response.
RabbitWho

Homework Statement

Question: "What does a polygraph test measure; skin resistance or conductance?"

To me this is two sides of the same coin and it seems it must be measuring both.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I thought that the person is acting as a resistor so I wrote down resistance, but the answer is conductance. I could just memorise the answer but I would like to understand why.

I'm a psychology student so please speak slowly and without assuming any basic knowledge.

Physics news on Phys.org
You are correct, it is technically two sides of the same coin. Resistance and conductance are related as R = 1/G, where R is resistance (measured in units of Ohms) and G is conductance measured in units of Siemens, and 1 Siemen is 1/(1 Ohm).

In fields outside of pure physics or electronics, there is sometimes a tendency to make the "correct" answer one that is learned by wrote from the textbook.

Related to Poligraph tests test resistance or conductance?

1. What is a poligraph test and how does it measure resistance or conductance?

A poligraph test, also known as a lie detector test, is a tool used to measure physiological responses in a person while they are answering questions. These responses, such as changes in heart rate, blood pressure, and breathing, are believed to indicate whether the person is telling the truth or lying. The test measures the resistance or conductance of the person's skin, which can change based on their emotional state.