Synchronous Generator: Increase of Field Current & Torque Angle

• Thread starter ffp
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Generator
In summary, the author discusses the relationship between reactive power and torque angle in synchronous machines. He provides a mathematical derivation for this relationship and explains how reactive power affects the angle between the rotor and stator fields. He also provides a diagram to illustrate his points.
ffp
Hi, I'm a electrical engineering student and i have a question conserning synchronous machines, more precisely a sinchronous generator.

Considering that's no change in load, the increase of the field current of the rotor would imply in a change in the torque angle?

I need a detailed explanation e if possible a reference.

Thanks!

Engineering news on Phys.org
Wouldn't a greater field excitation increase the torque?

In this case it's obvious, that changes of excitation field affects torque angle..
P=const. U=const. If=variab. Q=variab. -> variable reactive power means angle between stator and rotor fields must change -> theta=variab.

refereces ? use google, please..

dlgoff said:
Wouldn't a greater field excitation increase the torque?

constant torque on synchronous speed (from turbine or else) means constant real power. In this case the real part of stator current is constant, imaginaris part of stator current changes.

Last edited:
Thanks for the help, you confirmed what i was thinking. But i need to prove to a friend of mine with strong arguments.

How exactly reactive power affects the angle between rotor and stator field?

What is U?

Mathematically this could be proved with this formula:

P=3 Vt Ea sin(δ) / Xs

P=const. ; Ea increase with If; Vt increase with Ea; Xs= const. Then sin(δ) must decrease to maintain P constant and therefore, δ must also decrease.

Is that correct?

This could be proven with phasors diagram?

ffp said:
How exactly reactive power affects the angle between rotor and stator field?